Fridge Magnets – “Perfect Remedy”

Posted on July 13, 2011

3


By K.Hollinsworth

Harmonies reminiscent of Simon and Garfunkel, acoustic sounds, just covers us with a blanket of warmth.  It’s comfort food for the soul, the spirit, as promised in the first song of their album “Perfect Remedy”.

Lyrical and melodic this music loosened my shoulders at the end of this crazy day.  I felt frazzled, pulled apart in all directions when I decided to listen to one of our newer fanatic.fm artists while I worked on correspondence.  With the first few notes streaming smoothly through my Bose headphones, my shoulders dropped and I completely forgot what I was about to do.  Then I felt compelled to tell you about my experience with this magical musical ride.

It was Everly Brothers, Peter and Gordon, Simon and Garfunkel, The Association,  blue skies, warm waters, drifting in a row boat and no adult worries.  The first four songs are truly transformative, lullabies for adults if you will.

With “I’ve Been Looking For You”, the pace quickens and we reach the patriotic, at times anthemic “Song for a Winter Night” and the wind howls.

From the first to the last, the songs on this album hang together as the music ebbs and flows, the  lyrics are narrative and the harmonic voices do them justice.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

For more information about Fridge Magnets visit: http://www.fanatic.fm/fridgemagnets/album/200

